Eric Hoffer Book Award - for Small, Academic, & Independent Books


The Eric Hoffer Book Award honors the memory of the great American philosopher Eric Hoffer by highlighting salient writing, as well as the independent spirit of small publishers. Since its inception, the Hoffer has become one of the largest international book awards for small, academic, and independent presses. (learn more)

The Prizes

A grand prize of $2,500 is awarded annually. In addition, Eric Hoffer Book Award honors include various prizes within eighteen all-inclusive categories, separate press distinctions, the Montaigne Medal, the da Vinci Eye, First Horizon Award, and the Medal Provocateur. (learn more)

Book Nomination

Books are submitted to the Hoffer Award through our easy nomination process by our annual deadline and according to guidelines. A single category registration qualifies a book for all prize consideration. The registration deadline is January 21st, . (learn more)

See Eric Hoffer Book Award success stories.

Sponsor the Eric Hoffer Award.

Read about Eric Hoffer book restoration.

site search by freefind

Inform your social media platforms:



[March 14, 2023] Medal Prvovateur Finalist: The 2023 Medal Provocateur Finalist have been announced.

[March 6, 2023] Montaigne Medal Finalist: The 2023 Montaigne Medal Finalist have been announced.

[March 1, 2023] da Vinci Eye Finalist: The 2023 da Vinci Eye Finalist have been announced.

[February 21, 2023] Award Schedule Posted: The 2023 Eric Hoffer Book Award schedule announced.

[November 11, 2022] Eric Hoffer Award Advance Registration: Send your book(s) from a separate source by pre-registering your award entries in advance.

[June 28, 2021] Beware of Award Scams: Learn more here.

[[August 28, 2020] Discount Early Registration: A discount early registration fee is available until December 14.

[June 15, 2020] The Medal Provocateur: The Eric Hoffer Book Award announces the Medal Provocateur for experimental poetry.

[June 13, 2020] New Spiritual Fiction Category: The Eric Hoffer Book Award has added a Spiritual Fiction category for the upcoming award year.

News Archive

[January 1, 2021] The Authority of Book Awards: Our Chairman provides helpful guidelines for selecting a book award.

[October 10, 2015] Horse of a Different Color: Book Edits discusses the Hoffer Award.

[December 17, 2007] Inside the Hoffer: Award Chairman Christopher Klim speaks with Library Juice.